Seven-Up: Record number of previous winners to start Rose Hotel Circuit of Kerry

A record number of previous winners have entered the Rose Hotel Circuit of Kerry Rally – the second round of the Triton Showers Irish National Rally Championship

The first of the seven previous winners, Darren Gass, starts at three. The Armagh-based Citroen C3 Rally 2 driver won the Circuit of Kerry in 2011. He and co-driver Barry McNulty are in third place in the 2023 Triton Showers National Rally Championship.

Donegal’s Declan Boyle won the rally in 2014 and 2006. He and his Welsh co-driver Patrick Walsh return in another Polo Giti.

It is four years since the Circuit of Kerry last ran. Daragh O’Riordan and Mikey Walsh from Cork were the winners last time out in a Ford Fiesta R5amd they are the third previous winners to take to the start line.

Others include historic class drivers Alan Ring (BMW M3) who won in 2015 and Welsh visitor Gwyndaf Evans (Ford Escort) a double winner in `1992 and 1994.

Ken Lyons was the 1987 winner, and the Limerick driver returns in a Ford Escort.

Tim McNulty won the last Circuit of Kerry that was based in Dingle back in 2006 and he returns in another Polo GTI R5.

Unfortunately, Kerry Motorsport News cannot continue to make our articles available for free.

Just as newspapers and magazines are paid for, digital editorial content will also have to be paid for.

Please subscribe and help us keep this machine running!
It’s only €50 per year – subscribe now

Subscribe to get access

Read more of this content when you subscribe today.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s