Kerry competitors secure championship trophies as the Irish forestry championship draws to a close

Kerry competitors secure championship trophies as Irish forestry championship draws to a close

The 2022 Motorsport Ireland Forestry Championship drew to a close last weekend.

The Bushwhacker Rally, also known as the Omagh Grand Prix was the last round of the series.

When the championship points were all added up several Kerry drivers and co-drivers found themselves in trophy winning positions.

Cordal co-driver Denny Greany won the Group N class 4 title alongside Limerick’s PJ O’Connor in a Mitsubishi Lancer. A non-finish in Tyrone deprived the crew of an overall podium award

There was plenty of Kerry interest in class 20. Donagh Crowley guided Gerard Lucey to second, while the all Kerry crew of Mike O’Donoghue and Danny Murphy were third in their unusual Subaru Impreza estate.

Tommy Commane, probably the busiest co-driver in Ireland this season, scooped class 13 honours alongside Hal Lewis.

Kerry Motor Club’s Mike O’Connor was a regular class 13 competitor but does not appear to be registered for the championship. In his last outing of the year he finished second in class in his Manta in Omagh.

Mossie Costello was second in the Junior 1000 category and looks certain to make his senior debut in Banna next month

Unfortunately, Kerry Motorsport News cannot continue to make our articles available for free.

Just as newspapers and magazines are paid for, digital editorial content will also have to be paid for.

Please subscribe and help us keep this machine running!
It’s only €50 per year – subscribe now

Subscribe to get access

Read more of this content when you subscribe today.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s