The future is bright – 15 Junior 1000s entered in Killarney Forestry

A total of 15 Junior 1000 entries will start next Sunday’s Killarney Forestry Rally in Castleisland.

J1000 events are open to drivers aged 14 to 19. They are not allowed to drive on rally road sections – instead they must employ an experienced co-driver who will drive the car between stages.

Cars are limited to 1000cc – hence the class name – and typically include smaller cars like Nissan Micras or Toyota Aygos.

The series was first introduced by Motorsport Ireland in 2019 and returns this year after COVID put paid to the last two years.

Of the 15 entries received for the Killarney and District Motor Club, one of them is a Kerry driver.

Not only is Mossy Costello Kerry’s youngest rally, he is also Kerry Motor Club’s first third-generation driver.

His father Jason and grandfather Joe are well known in Irish and Kerry rally circles.

His sister, Megan also competes as a co-driver.

The unseeded Junior 1000 entry list includes two interesting co-drivers…Sam Moffett and Gary Kiernan.

301         Jack Brennan     Co. Kilkenny       John McGrath                    Skoda Citigo

302         Mossie Costello Co. Kerry             Jonathan Keane Co. Limerick        Peugeot 107

303         Tommy Moffett Co. Armagh        Sam Moffett      Co. Armagh        Toyota Aygo

304         Jack Kennedy    Co. Wexford      Mark Kennedy  Co. Wexford      Nissan J1000 micra

305         Jack Harris           Co. Donegal        TBA                        VW UP

306         Letisha Conn      England Conn Stephen   Co. Armagh        Citroen C1

307         Patrick Gahan    Co. Tipperary     Conor Moloughney         Co. Tipperary     Chevrolet Spark

308         Kyle Browne       Co. Cork               Daniel Hanratty Co. Cork               Toyota Aygo

309         Cameron Crozier              Co. Down            Aine Phelan        Co. Kilkenny       Nissan Micra

310         Ross Ryan            Co. Cork               Peter Keohane  Co. Cork               Citroen C1

311         Vanessa McFadden         Co. Mayo             Brian Commons Co. Limerick        Hyundai I10

312         James Ronan                      TBA                        Peugeot 107

313         Bobby Conn                        Jordan Murphy                 Citroen C1

314         Tommy Cronin   Co. Cork               Derek Gibbs                       Toyota Aygo

Unfortunately, Kerry Motorsport News cannot continue to make our articles available for free.

Just as newspapers and magazines are paid for, digital editorial content will also have to be paid for.

Please subscribe and help us keep this machine running!
It’s only €50 per year – subscribe now

Subscribe to get access

Read more of this content when you subscribe today.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s