Kerry Motor Club’s prepares for 50th anniversary as new committee voted in  

 Kerry Motor Club’s prepares for 50th anniversary as new committee voted in  

A new committee has been elected to steer Kerry Motor Club into its 50th year following Sunday’s Annual General Meeting.  

The Tralee-based club will celebrate its 50th birthday on Monday, January 31st and the newly elected committee will take over  on February 1 following a ceremonial handing over on 50th birthday. (The club hopes to mark the occasion on January 31 but that will depend on public health restrictions at that time). 

Eoin Duffin, the Circuit of Kerry’s Clerk of the Course takes over as club chair from the long- serving PJ O’Dowd. PJ will assume the role of vice chair for the year ahead after an online election that took place over video conference call.  

Long-serving club member Michelle Walsh takes over from Stephen O’Connell as club secretary – a role her mother Noreen held over 30 years ago.  

Christiana Fealy remains as club treasurer, while Sean Moriarty is the club’s new press officer. He takes over from Mikie Cleary who moves to the membership secretary role after long-serving membership secretary Ger O’Brien stepped down from the position. 

Jason Brick’s continues as the club’s chief marshal and Linda O’Neill remains as the club’s child welfare officer.  

Sarah Leahy is the club’s new development officer.  

Outgoing chairman PJ O’Dowd paid tribute to his fellow officers. 

“The club is in a very strong place thanks to the hard work of all the members,” he said. “We look forward to celebrating our 50th anniversary with a very good team in place to lead the club into its next 50th years.”  

Local motorsport journalist and co-driver Sean Moriarty was voted the Club Person of the Year for 2021 for his work in promoting the club in recent years.  

Kerry Motor Club was founded on Monday, January 31, 1972, following a meeting of like-minded individuals at the home of Arthur Caball in Oakpark, Tralee.  

In attendance were Arthur Caball, Rae Kelliher, Maurice Kelliher, Tommy Leahy, Ted Keane, Liam Nolan, Tommy O’Brien, Jimmy Nolan and John Gleeson.  

The club is planning a range of events throughout 2022 to mark its 50th anniversary but a lot of events are dependent on COVID-19 restrictions. 

However, an outdoor Cars’N’Coffee style event will take place in Tralee town centre on February 13 – more details on this event will be released in the next few weeks.  

Unfortunately, Kerry Motorsport News cannot continue to make our articles available for free.

Just as newspapers and magazines are paid for, digital editorial content will also have to be paid for.

Please subscribe and help us keep this machine running!
It’s only €50 per year – subscribe now

Subscribe to get access

Read more of this content when you subscribe today.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s