Irish Tarmac Rally Championship prizegiving

Craig Breen, right, and Paul Nagle, Irish Tarmac Champions . Picture: Eamonn Keogh

Paul Nagle will collect his Irish Tarmac Rally Championship winning trophy at the championship’s prizegiving event which takes place tomorrow night in Letterkenny County Donegal.

Nagle is the second Kerry competitor to win the title, following Mikie Galvin’s previous success.

The Aghadoe man and his driver Craig Breen won Galway, West Cork, The Easter Rally, The Rally of the Lakes and Ulster on their way to the title.

They secured their opening four wins behind the wheel of a Ford Fiesta R5 but switched to a Hyundai i30 R5 for the final round they contested.

The awards ceremony takes place at the Mount Errigal Hotel, headquarters for the Donegal International Rally, at 830pm on Saturday night.

Other local prize winners include Rathmore co-driver Declan Casey who finished third in the modified category and Lixnaw-based Tommy Commane who won the co-drivers section of the Historic Category 2 class.  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s